Fallout 4 – First Impressions!

I’ll be honest with you guys, since that’s kind of the point of Gaming With Grayson. Honest opinions! I would love to hear yours in the comments below, as well! This gets a little rant-y and I’m sorry for that, but these are my honest opinions and first impressions of Fallout 4, aka Modernized Minecraft/Building Simulator.

I’m not as thrilled with Fallout 4 as the rest of the world. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying it’s a bad game, I’m just saying I don’t see it as the greatest masterpiece ever made like everyone else does.

The story isn’t bad, and as a father, I get the emotional attachment, but the story just doesn’t really pack the punch it’s supposed to for me. Normally this isn’t the case, but I’m having trouble really getting behind my character and the wasteland as a whole. The characters aren’t dry and boring, the voice acting is phenomenal… I can’t really get behind my characters motives, mainly because it feels more like I’m trying to save the wasteland rather than find my son.

Now, I’ve gotten as far as the Institute in the main story so far, so I know the big revelation. I just feel like when you explain to everyone in the wasteland “I’m looking for my 1-year old who I watched get kidnapped after they killed my spouse,” everyone goes, “Oh, that sucks. Sorry for your loss. Hey, help my faction in the massive civil war going on and build 15 settlements for us because we’re incompetent and don’t know how to do anything for ourselves, and just forget about your child and dead spouse and the people who killed/stole them.”
Then you’re just supposed to forget and go along with these people.

The main campaign, from what I’ve gathered, can last as little as about 10 hours, which for a Bethesda game is short. The settlement system, to me, is very clunky and not really worth the hassle. Set up some turrets and make 1 person farm and another gather water, and that’s all you ever need to do. I get that this isn’t the point, but with how very little they teach you and how very much they try to make you do with no knowledge of how to do it, it doesn’t really make for a good game mechanic.

Yes, I’m glad they expanded on the building system from Hearthfire, but they should give you more direction than, “Here is your settlement. Go crazy. Oh, and hold this button to open the build menu, good luck!” If you are expected to build everything with literally zero help from settlers and followers, no way to set up build plans, and piece that don’t quite work how they’re supposed to, then there needs to be an actual building tutorial. I didn’t pick up Fallout to play Minecraft. I don’t mind resource gathering, I don’t mind building. I would just like to know how to do it without being forced to spend 15 hours building a single house because I can’t figure out how to rotate my piece to go end to end, or figure out a roof or scaffolding to get up to the roof, or being the only capable person in my the entire wasteland.

The controls aren’t terrible, but there is a bit much to learn with no real way to learn it other than trial-by-fire. The building system is very in-depth, which isn’t a bad thing, it’s just set up very poorly in how you go about everything. The story is okay, but Bethesda decided to focus on a building simulator rather than a Fallout game, which has always been about the story, so it kind of takes a very silent back seat to everything else.
The game, overall in my personal opinion would get a 6 out of 10, and I still feel like I’m being generous. Like I said, I don’t actually hate Fallout 4. I’m just disappointed in the direction Bethesda decided to take with it. My main issue with Bethesda games, is they are automatically the “best game ever made” because it has Bethesda’s name on it. There is a reason it lost GotY to Witcher 3, because the panelists understand that just because Bethesda made it, doesn’t mean it automatically gets to win GotY.

For all my complaining about Fallout 4, I’m about 20 hours in and I’m fairly far in the campaign (as far as I’m aware). I’m spending zero time in my settlements other than for crafting my own weapons and armor, because with everything in the settlement system, I honestly just don’t care enough to get aggravated while trying to figure out a single building and defense. My two turrets and open sky sleeping bags are good enough, if they want more protection, they can figure it out, I’m more worried about my son, not keeping these random strangers safe.
I’ve been pretty much everywhere important in the game and I’ve only explored  from the vault to diamond city to the cave in the Glowing Sea and the Institute. That’s been my exploration path, so the good news in that is I have so much more to explore when I finish the campaign.

Obviously I will be doing multiple play-throughs and figuring out the systems and playing as various factions. For everything, the gameplay is not bad, it’s very smooth and fluid. The weather system is very interesting and unique and I really enjoy the implementation of it. I also learned very quickly that at level 15 with a full suit of T-45b Power Armor, the Glowing Sea is a nightmare. I like that the wasteland gets tougher the further away you stray from the Vault.

I know my opinion will slowly change about this game as updates come out and I get more time to work with the settlement systems. As of right now, this is just my First Impression, and clearly, it’s not a very good one. I was expecting a full Fallout experience, and not a building simulator with a Fallout backseat driver. I’m not upset that I own Fallout 4, I’m just disappointed with Bethesda’s choice in focus for gameplay.
It’s not a bad system (so I’m told) once you spend the 15+ hours to finally figure everything out. But to me, the point of a Fallout game, is not to spend 15+ hours learning how to build a house in a trial-by-fire situation, or having to look it up online. It’s to experience life in the Wasteland while looking for your lost loved one. Or platinum chip. I feel like Fallout 4 is the foundation for a better Fallout game. Sort of how the first Assassin’s Creed was the foundation for a better Assassin’s Creed game.

Let me know your opinions in the comment below! I know that mine is unpopular, and I promise, I’m not saying I hate Fallout 4. I’m just saying that as of right now, I have not had the desire to spend countless hours learning a new system that has no tutorial. You have to keep in mind that I have a 3 year old running around my house, so I don’t really get ample time with that and work hours to play around with new systems.

Sorry if you hate me for this post, but remember, Gaming With Grayson is a place to discuss this kind of thing and being able to voice opinions like this in a community of gamers who respect other opinions and have good, solid conversations about said opinions. So let’s hear your thoughts, gamers!

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impressions

Leave a Reply

